lee min ho matures for gangnam 1970

gb

I finally caught Gangnam 1970. It’s a well-plotted, gritty film with tons of violence and a hefty serving of explicit sexual scenes. But it is a Yoo Ha work so we shouldn’t be surprised. I was engrossed in the story from start to end since I have a liking for triad-themed stuff. As much as I love Lee Min Ho, I would say I would have enjoyed the movie even if he wasn’t starring in it.

LMH acted extremely well and there was mature assuredness to his portrayal. But in all honesty, I don’t really think he outdid himself. Which is good since it means he has tons of room to improve and hone his craft. There is no doubt he has talent, but he lacks a little gravitas, which I think comes with age and more experience. His action scenes were fluid and graceful, which I loved.

I do understand why the director thought he was too good-looking to play the part of Kim Yong Dae – because LMH looked ridiculously handsome in rags, dirt-smudged mien and straggly hair. You can’t hide that beautiful face of his – LMH even went to the extent of not looking after his skin while filming in order too look worse but all I saw was those soulful eyes of his starring at me out of the screen. His eyes are the ones that capture and reel you in because they are just so expressive and you can read everything he feels there even if his actions and gestures remain muted.

On a more superficial note, he looked amazing. The camera loves him – doesn’t matter if he is strewn in blood or gazing longingly at his beloved one. I so prefer him styled simple and more rugged because it suits him tons better than all dressed up as a flower boy. Was swooning over the scenes of him in white shirts and aviators. For those who were disappointed with him in Heirs, Gangnam 1970 does make up for it. You do feel he was pushed to develop depth and breadth for this role as compared to how he cruised through Heirs without breaking a sweat in those fancy sweaters.

Gangnam 1970 is doing great at the domestic box office and I would say LMH made an astute choice for his silver screen debut. He has the makings of a movie star and he’s still relatively young with lots going for his future. I do like him a lot in darker roles like this. As a fan, I’m super proud of him. Min Ho… fighting!