kim rae won + shin se kyung for dark knight


Just when I was getting all excited to hear Kim Rae Won was considering KBS’ new drama, Dark Knight… and news broke he is confirmed for the role, with Shin Se Kyung as his leading lady. I so wish KBS followed the same age-ish OTP casting that has working so well with some of the current crop of dramas out there. 

I was fairly optimistic when Shin Se Kyung was cast in Bride of the Water God but she kinda fizzled out and became a little too bland for my taste halfway through. She being paired with Kim Rae Won is quite reminiscent of his previous drama pairing with Park Shin Hye. I don’t mind sizeable age gaps in general, just that I wish the story wasn’t going for a Candy Girl as its female character.

I would love to see him do something with Kim Tae Hee or Su Ae again – not now of course, but in the near future. I liked him with Kim Ah Joong in Punch, too. Other possible actresses around his age include Shin Min Ah, Han Hye Jin, Son Ye Jin, Gong Hyo Jin…just to name a few. OOohhhh… it would be fun to see him pair up with Son Ye Jin.

Black Knight is a fantasy romance, where Kim Rae Won plays a time-travelling successful businessman who overcomes an unhappy childhood to pursue his studies in the U.S to get to where he is. Not surprisingly, he is emotionally and psychologically guarded. His character is further described as one who exhibits 100 percent pure love when in love, though the very same love can be frightening at times. He is mostly intimidating and blunt, but has his funny, caring side.

OK. That sounds right up Kim Rae Won’s alley and I’m confident he is going to kill the role and make the ladies swoon till kingdom come. This sounds like a Korean twist on Bruce Wayne and well, Batman is my most loved superhero of all times. I’m hoping the writer is going more for a Christian Bale intepretation than..Ben Affleck. PLEASE. 

Shin Se Kyung is a hardworking travel agent who has never once travelled, and struggles to make ends meet. Sigh. Poor girl is forever struggling to make ends meet no matter what occupation she takes on in her dramas. I can see how Kim Rae Won can fill the gaps in her life while she, like all supposed Candy Girls, will always worm their way into those cold, detached hearts with their never-say-die attitude, imnocence, and simplistic view of life.