hong jong hyun in action [updated with translation]

I FINALLY FOUND THE CLIP! I knew there was a BTS clip of Hong Jong Hyun’s action scenes in The King Loves floating around but I couldn’t find a version that could play properly where I am… until now. I couldn’t find it on Youtube either because it only was uploaded on certain, mostly restricted, websites. He can be so bad-ass when he wants to and is so bloody hot when he is in action mode. I’ve translated what he said since I thought he was just too adorable.

I love sageuk fight scenes when done well. But my heart dropped and I literally screeched at the part when he got hit in the eye. Dayum… that is how much I love Jong Hyunie. He can’t get hurt… I guess Yoona must have felt 1000 times worse when she found out. Hahaha. There goes my stubborn shipper’s heart again. But I bet she fussed over him, and his wound if there was one.

He says:
“I can’t say I have many action scenes in this drama, but I do have some. I have done projects with action scenes before but in this drama alone, I seemed to have gotten injured quite a bit. For example, my eye got cut before while filming at that place behind me. This is my first time filming dangerous action scenes so I was very careful. Because if I get injured, I have to rest and recover, and this will delay the filming schedule because I will be unable to work with the rest. That was what I was most worried about. But as I filmed these action scenes, I steadily got sucked in till the point I got quite obsessed, but got more comfortable with it. But I still find it a little difficult.”

Awww…He is such a sweetheart and it shows since he was concerned about disrupting production if he got injured. It was cute how he admitted he gradually got obsessed with the thrill of filming action scenes – he is just a bona fide thrill seeker, which probably explains why he is so good at riding horses, too. I love how he is so sweet, yet so cool and assertive at the same time. Gah. Maybe I need to re-watch We Got Married to get my dose of his quiet awesomeness.

I’m not sure whether you guys have seen the clip so I decided to post it here. Hope you can view it. You can see a few more clips on the website, including a RinSan Special which is pretty hard to find, too, though it doesn’t feature any new content. It is mostly stuff that we have seen before, only much clearer.

I somehow always doubted the two kissed on the lips but I think they did in the end based on this angle. I think this was the kiss that made one of the staff go “yaaaaaah” in appreciation, as Hong Jong Hyun pointed out in the BTS cut. I don’t think a male staff would do that if they didn’t kiss proper – or at least bump lips.

It does look awfully swoony and pretty from this angle… why am I digressing from action to kissin’?

Watch Hong Jong Hyun in action here…